I LOAVE BREAD: Flaxseed Muffin Recipe

​​​I really don’t eat “bread” products anymore, except for grandma’s homemade tortillas on Friday. Or the low-carb tortillas my family buys at the store. And I wasn’t a huge sandwich-eater, and those hamburger/hotdog buns don’t do anything for me. 😉

But I do miss sweet breads – banana nut, pumpkin spice, and muffins of all types. In fact, it’s safe to say these were (and still are) some of my “trigger foods”. At school, the biggest temptation at breakfast were the muffins – and at one point, if I had one, it could send my entire day spiraling into an overeating frenzy.

But look at this recipe I found!

It’s lower-carb (roughly 3 or 4g net without the berries), JUST sweet enough to satisfy, and I don’t feel guilty after eating it. That’s the best part. 🙂

It’s a single serving, too – so that means there’s not a bunch sitting around the house to consume later in boredom, sadness, guilt, or what-have-you.

Flaxseed Breakfast Muffin

1 oz berries
¼ c flaxseed meal (ground flaxseed)
½ tsp nutmeg
½ tsp orange zest
½ tsp baking powder
2 tbsp sugar free syrup
1 egg white *

* I used a fat-free egg white substitute.

1. Mix dry ingredients together (I used a medium-sized beaker…there’s really not much “batter”).
2. Stir in remaining wet ingredients.
3. Pour mixture into lightly-greased mug (I just sprayed some cooking oil into a cup).
– Key point: you’re using 2 containers! Don’t try to mix all the ingredients in the greased mug (like I did at first…oops, my bad!).
4. Heat in microwave for 1:30 – 2:00 minutes.

And that’s it! Seriously. I am no chef, and my kitchen escapades are always an adventure – so if I could make this, so can you. I’ll definitely be using this recipe during the school year. (More random health foods to add to our mini-fridge – sorry roomie!)

20130626_174757

GUYS, I’M SO HAPPY. I can eat a muffin at breakfast and actually enjoy it. So can you!

Estimated Nutritional Value (w/o berries):
170 calories
3 net carbs (22g total – 8g fiber – 11g sugar alcohol)
10g fat
9g protein

Recipe found: http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=975928

20130626_174541

Let me know if you try it!

Categories: Food & Recipes | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “I LOAVE BREAD: Flaxseed Muffin Recipe

  1. “And that’s it! Seriously. I am no chef, and my kitchen escapades are always an adventure – so if I could make this, so can you. I’ll definitely be using this recipe during the school year. (More random health foods to add to our mini-fridge – sorry roomie!)”

    As long as there is still room for my milk. Gotta have my coffee 😉 Also I’m totally gonna try this!!!

    • There’s always room for milk…I could never take that away from you!

      And definitely let me know how the recipe turns out. I’m going to be tweaking it this summer to see if I can improve it without causing TOO much of a kitchen mess. 😉

  2. I’m coming over for muffins and coffee from your room next year! 😉

    • We’ll have a bigger room this time around! Muffins, coffee, and basketball on TV, perhaps? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

